Chelsea vs Zenit: Chelsea Full Squad and Line Up; Havertz, Lukaku, Mount to Start

How Chelsea could line up against Zenit St Petersburg

Chelsea vs Zenit

Sep 14, 2021 at 8pm UK

How Chelsea could line up against Zenit St Petersburg

Only a few months after they lifted the trophy for a second time in Porto, Chelsea start their new Champions League campaign against Russian champions Zenit St Petersburg on Tuesday evening.

Though they boast a talent-packed squad with plenty of cover, Thomas Tuchel’s men could again be without a key presence in midfield, while they will also miss a major attacking option at Stamford Bridge.

American winger Christian Pulisic is expected to remain out of commission with an ankle problem, so Mason Mount and Kai Havertz are favourites to start in support of star striker Romelu Lukaku up front.

Midfield lynchpin N’Golo Kante is a doubt, too, as the World Cup winner was substituted with an ankle injury against Liverpool just before the international break, and has yet to return to full training.

Following an intense World Cup qualifying period spent representing Italy, current UEFA Player of the Year Jorginho is set to reclaim his place in the Chelsea engine room, having been rested at the weekend.

The Azzurri star should be joined in midfield by Mateo Kovacic, though new signing Saul Niguez offers Tuchel another high-calibre option in the centre.

Meanwhile, Lukaku will expect to back up his first league goals at the Bridge, as he leads the Blues’ attack, also looking to fare far better this year than his Inter side’s group stage exit in the autumn of 2020.

Champions League stalwart Thiago Silva is available to start in defence after a FIFA suspension was overturned, and he could start in the hosts’ back three – with Andreas Christensen and Trevoh Chalobah battling it out for a start alongside the Brazilian and Antonio Rudiger.

Chelsea possible starting lineup: Mendy; Christensen, Silva, Rudiger; Azpilicueta, Kovacic, Jorginho, Alonso; Havertz, Lukaku, Mount

Share and Enjoy !


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply